Old Dominion University
A to Z Index  |  Directories


College of Arts and Letters


Institute for Jewish Studies and Interfaith Understanding




Jewish Studies Faculty

Department 

 Contact

 Jewish Studies Associate Faculty

 

Foreign Languages and Literatures

BAL 4038
ibenmorp@odu.edu

Idit Benmor, MA,  Adjunct Instructor of Hebrew
Hebrew Linguistics, Medieval and Modern Hebrew Literature, Zionism and Israel Studies.

 

Foreign Languages and Literatures

BAL 4018
757-683-3980
mdaas@odu.edu

Martha Daas, PhD, Associate Professor of Spanish
Popular manifestations of religion in the Spanish Middle Ages and the study of religious parody. 

 

Foreign Languages and Literatures

BAL 4006
757-683-3981
flubich@odu.edu 

Frederick Lubich, PhD, Professor of German
19th and 20th century German and European Literature and Culture, German-Jewish Cultural Studies. 

 

Foreign Languages and Literatures

BAL 4020
757-683-3323
pschulma@odu.edu 

Peter Schulman, PhD, Associate Professor of French
Jewish cinema, Franco-Jewish relations, Vichy France and the Jews. 

 

History

Koch Hall 220B
757-683-4423
cdesilva@odu.edu 

Chandra de Silva, PhD, Professor of History and Vice Provost for faculty and Program Development
Ethnic and Religious Conflict, Third World Politics, Portuguese Colonial History, Asian and African History. 

 

History

BAL 8000
757-683-3951
acroswhi@odu.edu 

Annette Finely-Croswhite, PhD, Professor of History
Early modern Europe, France, French Atlantic, history of medicine. 

 

History

BAL 8010
757-683-4819
amirkova@odu.edu 

Anna Mirkova, PhD, Assistant Professor of History
Ottoman Empire, modern Balkans and the Middle East: Citizenship, Nationalism, Muslim minorities in post-Ottoman Europe. 

 

History

BAL 8024
757-683-3946
mhametz@odu.edu 

Maura Hametz, PhD, Associate Professor of History
Modern European History, International Relations, Italian and Central European History. 

 

History    

BAL 8046
757-683-4371
bbebber@odu.edu 

Brett Bebber, PhD, Assistant Professor of History
Geographic Specialty: Europe, Great Britain 

 

History

BAL 8018
757-683-3942
kpearson@odu.edu 

Kathy Pearson, PhD, Associate Professor of History
Ancient and Medieval European History. 

 

English

BAL 2024
757-683-6816
fgoldin@odu.edu 

Farideh Goldin, MFA, Director Jewish Studies
World Literature, Women Writers, Iranian Women Writers, Jewish Writers, Creative Nonfiction. 

English

Student Success Center,
Room 2000A
757-683-4865
dmetzger@odu.edu 

David Metzger, PhD, Dean, Honors College, Professor of English
The history and development of religion, science and religion, Rationalist and Mystical trends in religion, intellectual history. 

 

Religion

mpanitz@odu.edu 

Michael Panitz, Rabbi, Adjunct Professor of Religion
History and development of religion, rationalist and mystical trends in religion, and history of modern Israel. 

 

Political Science

757-683-3859
syetiv@odu.edu 

Steve Yetiv, PhD, Professor of Political Science
Middle East Politics, International Relations Theory, American Foreign Policy. 

 

Communication

BAL 3014
757-683-6971
asanto@odu.edu 

Avi Santo, PhD, Assistant Professor of Communications
International communication and global television studies, Inuit television, Israeli film and media, race and the media, media and social justice, American broadcast history, comic books, superheroes, and intellectual property and licensing practices, representations of Jewish identity in world media. 

 

Communication 

BAL 3015
757-683-3828
elivni@odu.edu 

Eran Livni